Scanlon Leads Push For FAA to Issue Guidance to Protect Travelers, Workers

EAST LANSDOWNE, PA — Today, Congresswoman Mary Gay Scanlon urged the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) to issue formal guidance regarding the implementation of public health measures and use of personal protective equipment (PPE) by travelers and workers in airports across the country during the COVID-19 pandemic.

In a letter, signed by 32 members of Congress, Congresswoman Scanlon addressed the immediate danger a lack of guidance poses to the general public, Transportation Security Administration employees, air traffic controllers, baggage handlers, and other airport and airline employees.

“States across the country have implemented a patchwork of restrictions on travel and social and commercial interaction, even as hotspots of COVID-19 infections and deaths continue to erupt,” the letter states. “With an increasing number of states bowing to pressure to “re-open” the economy and lifting restrictions on travel and business operations, the public will seek to resume air travel.”

The Center for Disease Control has issued restrictions for those traveling into the United States to prevent the spread of COVID-19 from overseas travel, but has not issued public health guidance or restrictions to protect domestic travel.

“Given the variety in infection levels and varied state responses across the United States, we believe that FAA action to issue and publicize public health guidance for domestic airports and travel is a necessary step to protect the flying public and airport workers, and prevent the spread of COVID-19 between the states via air travel,” the letter continued.

This letter was signed by Representatives Don Beyer (VA), Jerrold Nadler (NY), Ayanna Pressley (MA), Eleanor Holmes Norton (DC), Andre’ Carson (IN), Darren Soto (FL), Alcee L. Hastings (FL), Alan Lowenthal (CA), Ed Case (HI), Deb Haaland (NM), Sanford D. Bishop, Jr. (GA), Scott Peters (CA), Jackie Speier (CA), Madeleine Dean (PA), Rashida Tlaib (MI), Tony Cárdenas (CA), Lisa Blunt Rochester (DE), Lucille Roybal-Allard (CA), John Yarmuth (KY), Doris Matsui (CA), Tim Ryan (OH), Eddie Bernice Johnson (TX), Cindy Axne (IA), Raúl M. Grijalva (AZ), Norma J. Torres (CA), Wm. Lacy Clay (MO), James P. McGovern (MA), Katie Porter (CA), Jennifer Wexton (VA), Veronica Escobar (TX), Jamie Raskin (MD), and David Trone (MD).